Why I’ll never buy an E-Reader


As a writer, I love the feeling of having a freshly printed book arrive at my door. I took advantage of Lulu’s freeby day and used my mother and aunt’s account and ordered about 5 copies of my book: The full version (all 276 pages) in print with their Eco-Paper (which I just LOVE, except for the page count), a Hardcover version with a different cover (again, the full version), a colored Saddle-Stitch Editon (the 50 page chapbook version), and a revised version of the Saddle Stitch edition…but in Hardcover. All of them were separate orders made over the course of two weeks. But there is one thing that I, and Lulu, fear: The dawn of the E-Reader.

NEVER!!!!


Those little guys are a menace to Old School book lovers like me, but they are a life saver to the Digital Age people. I saw on the news that Borders closed because they failed to recognize Prince Kindle as their overlord. When my aunt and I flocked to Border’s closing sale, I saw tons of people buying stack-loads of books. I picked up a 160 page Hardcover poetry book and guess what? It was $16.00. How can they buy stackloads of books when they weren’t even half off? The economy isn’t suffering that bad if people can afford to buy seven paperbacks and four hardbacks. My mom only gets $600 dollars a month, but it’s not even that much because of bills, the Christmas Club (they take $50 every month), and my $30 a-month-allowance (which I haven’t gotten in 3 months). E-Readers are only $160, and books are $10. BUT the materials used for e-readers will be unavailable if anything happens to its source, whereas Printed books rely on paper that comes from trees. If people stopped farming forests for building houses, I’m sure the price of books would go back down.

The reason I won’t buy an E-Reader is because:

*I like bending a paperback book
*I like saddle-stitched chapbooks
*I like flipping through pages
*I like the front cover and the back cover of books, especially glossy paper

On the other hand, Here is a reason why I hate books Most Books:

*They’re novels. I don’t like novels. I like only a few novels.
*They’re Tomes. I hate tomes (the only tome I read was Harry Potter #7. Two words: NEVER AGAIN).
*It seems only novels get artistic and pretty covers. Most of the poetry books I’ve seen don’t have nice covers
*They bore me

Now, that wasn’t long to read, was it? Here is what I like about E-Readers:

*They’re portable, black devices with smooth backs
*They look nice

And here’s what I like about chapbooks:

*They are short, perfectly suitable for me
*They pack a punch
*Some of them have pretty covers
*You can do a lot with them: you can experiment, make limited editions, put goodies with them, bind them yourself, add extras, sell them on eBay, enter a contest in hopes of yours getting published as a chapbook

And here’s what I hate about them:

*Um….Nothing, really.

Why I won’t buy an E-Reader:

*I like seeing my book printed. I like seeing it’s spine on my desk. i like flipping through it to see what I wrote. You can’t look at its spine on an e-reader, you can’t admire it’s color cover on an e-reader, you can’t say GOOD JOB when all you do is click “Publish” and download the PDF. If it’s in print, I can design it, add special fonts, and say GOOD JOB when it arrives in print form

Do you catch my drift? I like the gratification from a printed book. HOWEVER, I do believe Kindles belong in school. I like seeing no page count for a text book. Sorry this post has been so long. For a seventeen-year-old, I have too much time on my hands 🙂 but that’s a good thing.

5 comments

  1. There is nothing quite like fresh print and a REAL book in your hands. I can’t fathom teaching through electronics. Some things have to be learned FROM PAPER! Thanks for this insightful post.

    -GD
    Visit my writing blog at http://shelleddreams.wordpress.com/

  2. Thank you for some other great article. Where else may just anybody get that type of info in such an ideal way of writing? I have a presentation subsequent week, and I am on the look for such info.

  3. It is through the night look over my thoughts! You peer to find out so much regarding this, through the night had written the novel with them as well. I feel that you could execute with a bit of pix to get the material residential home a little bit, but really, this is often fantastic blogging site. A great check out. I am going to certainly be again.

  4. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just too wonderful. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise. I cant wait to read far more again from you. Thanks For Share .

  5. I was just searching for this info for a while. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your site. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this kind of informative sites in top of the list. Generally the top web sites are full of garbage.

Leave a Reply

